You are here: You are here: Home / Products and services / CABI Academy / CAS ICM


Our online higher education programmes aim to address today’s critical agricultural and environmental challenges.

We offer three Certificates of Advanced Studies (CAS) in Integrated Crop Management (ICM), which can be combined into a Diploma of Advanced Studies (DAS).

These programmes are available to students and practitioners around the world, offering the opportunity to learn about crop management principles and explore solutions that can be incorporated into practice and policy in any country.

The CAS ICM programmes are developed and run by CABI and the University of Neuchâtel in collaboration with partner institutions in Switzerland.

Apply now for September 2023!

Applications are now open for three separate Certificates of Advanced Studies (CAS) in Integrated Crop Management (ICM).

All three CAS-ICM programmes are valuable for scientists, teachers, extension officers, policymakers and post-graduate students.

Participants should possess a Bachelor’s degree or at least three years of relevant professional experience in a related field.

Application deadline: 2nd July 2023
Starting date: September 2023
Duration: 9 months (approximately 10 hours per week), fully online


Taught in English, the duration of each CAS programme is about 9 months over which participants will need to dedicate about 10 hours of study time per week.

Each programme is organized around thematic topics toward practical ICM solutions. They are led by ICM experts from the co-organising institutions (CABI and the University of Neuchâtel) and feature interdisciplinary guest contributions from around the world.

We offer three fully online CAS programmes:

  • CAS 1: ICM – Sustainable Production Practices
  • CAS 2: ICM – Aspects of Implementation
  • CAS 3: ICM – Biological Control and Ecosystem Services

Each CAS counts for 10 to 12 credits in the European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS). Each CAS is independent.

Candidates who have successfully finished all three CAS programmes can obtain a Diploma of Advanced Studies (DAS) upon completion of an additional technical report. The DAS, consisting of the three CAS programmes and the technical report, then counts for 36 European Credit Transfer System (ECTS).

How are the courses run?

All three CAS ICM programmes are fully online.

Participants who successfully finish all three CAS programmes can obtain a Diploma of Advanced Studies (DAS) on completion of an additional technical report.

How do I apply?

For more information on the programme and how to apply, please visit the University of Neuchâtel website.

What is ICM?

Integrated Crop Management, or ICM, is a sustainable agricultural production system that improves overall crop health with minimal impact on the environment.

It optimizes yield and profitability and takes into consideration pest management, soil care, seed selection, crop nutrition, water management, rural economics, landscape management, agricultural policy and more.

ICM is an important part of sustainable agriculture and these courses promote the adoption of sound crop management principles.

Powered by: